40 Days (Part 1)

Posted: October 13, 2009 in Good Old Days

40 days in the Bible is very significant or talks about special events that took place during the times of the OT and NT.

 

It is exactly 6 months and 13 days when I arrived here in Riyadh. I am full of hope (as always) and looking forward to work abroad for several reasons, one of which is to help my family, career growth and experience among others.

 

I am so excited because of the fact that is my first time to work abroad and to experience the so called thing “Bagong Bayani” and other words dubbed for Overseas Filipino Workers.

 

7:30am-5:00pm from Saturday-Tuesday and 7:30am-4:00pm (Wednesday) is the usual working hours here in the office. Coffee breaks, lunch breaks, riding the bus, taxis and going to mall are the monotonous things that I have used to observe here.

 

I work as an Administrative Assistant in a prestige hospital in the city (RUH) and I have at least to this date I am mastering the flow of work and I have at least dealt and still dealing with the organisms inside the  intestines of our department. It is a wonderful experience to work with other Filipinos and other races in the world.

 

During my “off” days (Thursdays-Fridays) I used to have chat with my family way back home. Thursday is the day which me and the youth (Rina and Jaimee) called “Chat day ni Sir” aside from the everyday e-mails with them as well as the Tuesday “on-line” day with my cousin Amy.

 

I miss my family a lot, I always pray for them posted on my deck is my permanent prayer list for them. I used to chat with my mother and Sam during my first few weeks here but since my younger brother has been working, it was my younger sister, Lou, my Ate Bing, my mother, my youngest brother Tiks, my pamangkins, Ara, Momo, Aron and AJ (pinakamakulit uunahan pa niya si mama ko sa mic) and sometimes our kuya Jeron is with them. That is our usual routine every Thursday unless I have something to do which our “Chat Day” will be cancelled.

 

I have also regular communication with my friends here and abroad as well as in the Philippines. To name a few, Bong, Elaine, K.Vince, K.Philip, K.Jeff, Manny, T.Tin, T.Joy, T.Dian are my constant virtual “kakwentuhan”. I am also very happy whenever I received text messages from my family and friends since this is the easiest mode of communication.

 

There are many things that happened in my life, my family’s life and others why I have decided to work here. Most of my relatives didn’t know that I was leaving then only the day of my scheduled flight they came to know it. 

 

 

 

Those were the normal routines of my everyday living here aside from washing clothes, preparing meals and watching TFC.

 

September 03, 2009 is “Chat Day” and me and my mother as well as the youth had a great time chatting and telling each other’s stories. September 04, 2009 around 03:15am (RUH time-8:15am PH time) I received a text message from my Kuya “Sir eka mabibigla, kalmantyan mu ing sarili mu ken, ing wali tamu e Samboy pingwa na neng God.” That’s the non-monotonous thing that happened to me during my stay here.

 

“Nanginig ang buong kalamnan ko!” I am trying to compose myself since it is very early in the morning and it is Friday then so most of us in the camp are resting because it is still rest day then. I ran out of load. “Nanginginig parin ako that time.” I woke up my roommate and I asked if he has load and I’ve texted my brother to call me that time. Then I heard him and my mother breaking the news though our conversation that my brother died.

 

After that I was able to got load from my cousin as well as load from here. I was able to wash my clothes at a very early morning. I broke in tears while praying after finishing all my tasks.

 

It was Ramadan time in here and I filed an emergency leave at least to pay my last respect to my brother. But to no avail I wasn’t able to make it because of several reasons.

 

I had many sleepless nights, breaking down in tears and I can’t eat during the wake and the next two more weeks. My family and I decided things out and laid my brother to rest in a private cemetery near our place where my father also was laid to rest.

 

I was then trying to compose myself because I am still reporting to work while waiting for the approval of my emergency leave. Calls, texting and e-mails are my last resorts of communicating with my family and friends.

 

I never broke down in tears when I am talking to my mother during the wake. I never broke down in tears whenever I talk to my siblings, relatives and friends.

 

I broke down in tears with God. For He alone is our comforter. I broke down in tears with Jaimee I was able to catch her in net that time before she went to our house, to my cousin Amy when I had talked to her, to my Kuya Jeron as he always assures me that my family is comforted by many people surrounding us during those times, to Elaine as she is my constant confidant, to my Ate Bing, to my Bapang Bong, to Ate Mae among others.

 

It was nice to know that my brother is well loved by many people, his former classmates, friends, relatives and church mates.  I remember receiving an FS message from Sey2x (his friend in US) that she said to me that it was not true. Pastor Ray sent an e-mail with his condolences.

 

I wasn’t able to eat at all and can’t sleep at all. During the wake and the final day of the wake my brother called me during the tribute of our church mates for my brother I really broke down in tears.

 

Wednesday of that week my brother was laid to rest and many people mourn and accompanied him on his last plight.

 

I kept on working, taking pictures for our department’s website while my whole family and the rest who loved my brother were mourning.

 

                                                                                    …. To be continued PRAISE GOD!

Leave a Reply

